My Call to Action

This is my second stab at writing a blog. I’m hoping this time around it serves a purpose. It may only serve me, and that would be O.K., though I think it will hold some valuable information that others might find useful. It will be about photography and the road I am taking to try to perfect my skills and establish a business. However, I am a wife and mother, so you can expect to see my family every once in a while.

If someone told me 10 years ago that I would no longer be a teacher and attempt to become a professional photographer, I would have responded with a loud and annoyed “Are you kidding me?” I spent way too much time (well over the typical 4 years) and too much money on my degree to walk away. Why would I want to spend even more time and more money to be a photographer? Well, the answer became very clear and actually quite simple. I love to take pictures and I never tire of wanting to learn more. The expense part was going to be a challenge, but it was an investment I was willing to make.

This blog will cover a variety of topics, but will always revolve around photography. It will be a good reflection of my life. This blog will be my stepping stones to success. The goals that I have set for myself will be achieved through this blog. One may ask, “How can you achieve your goals through a blog?” The answer is simple…I can no longer avoid my rather thick book on photography, that I need to read to pass my certification test. I will have to take all those guides that I have purchased over the years and actually open them up and look inside. I will have to make the time to view the countless webinars and workshops that I have access to. I will have to be sure to practice, practice some more and when I think I have it, practice even more. This blog will force me to take the next steps in ensuring that I make every effort in helping my business succeed and maybe even helping others do the same.

I’m excited about this next chapter in my life. Trying to juggle a family and running your own business can be overwhelming at times, even stressful and unbelievably tiring. I am hopeful that with a little time management and some super organizational skills (I was voted most organized in my senior class), that it will be a painless process.

Even if I find myself babbling about f-stops and white balance, metering light conditions in my sleep, and start branding each of my children, it will all be worth it in the end. This blog will be a constant reminder of the time, effort, sweat and tears that it took to obtain my goals.

Leave a Reply

