The MOMtographer

Please don’t call me a momtographer.

When I first heard this term, I pictured a mom with a fancy camera that really didn’t now how to use it. Completely happy shooting in auto with no desire to learn any more about her camera, which may be worth hundreds if not thousands of dollars.

I too, am a mom with a fancy camera. However, I have taken the steps to learn how to use my camera. I have even taken it as far as to start a business and work towards my certification. I have made a commitment to work hard and continuously strive to perfect my skills.

My biggest concern when becoming a professional photographer was the fear that people would only see a mom with a camera. I found myself always using this worry as an excuse. Basically admitting that I would never be taken seriously because I am a mom who never went to school for photography. I have slowly realized that it will be my work that will speak for itself.

I have also embraced the term Momtographer. I am a mom and I am a photographer. I love being both, but if I had to choose, I would stop taking pictures today. My children are my life and I can’t imagine a world without them. They are my inspiration and the reason I wanted to become a photographer. If it wasn’t for them, I would most likely still be teaching high school science. Which isn’t a horrible profession, but I would be missing out on my true passion.

Any mother who takes the time to photograph her children, should not be judged on how those pictures are taken. Whether, it’s with a $10,000 camera or a disposable, the love that goes into capturing the innocence and pure joy of a child, should be commended, if not applauded. A mother’s love for her children is truly picture perfect.

Please, call me a momtographer!

Leave a Reply

