A Senior Photo Session – A Closer Look

I had the opportunity to photograph a young, soon to be graduate, in Lockport on June 1st. We headed over to a picturesque little park, Lincoln Landing. Located right along the Illinois and Michigan Canal, it was really a great spot to take pictures.

Since I didn’t have to worry about chasing after small children, which is something I am used to doing, I got the Speedlites out and played around a little. It’s definitely a lot easier to practice with the lights when photographing an older subject. I thought I would share a few shots and their settings from the session.

During the first part of the session, the graduate wore his ROTC uniform. He then put on his cap and gown for the second half.

The first picture (left), I did not use a flash. My ISO was 400, focal length was 35mm, aperture was f/2.8 and shutter speed was 1/500 seconds.

The second picture (middle), I used one flash. It was located to camera left, about 8 to 10 feet away from the subject. It was close to a 45 degree angle and at 1/2 manual power. The settings were, ISO 400, focal length 35mm, aperture f/13 and shutter speed 1/200 seconds.

The third picture (right), I used two flashes. First flash was located in the same spot as second picture and a second flash was placed behind the subject. I left the kicker light (back light) in the picture. I little trick that I learned from Brett Jarnagin (a guest speaker at a Chicago Smug meeting). The kicker light was at full strength. The settings were, ISO 400, focal length 35mm, aperture f/11, and shutter speed 1/200 seconds.

This picture was taken without a flash. The settings were ISO 320, focal length 70mm, aperture f/4 and shutter speed 1/125.

In the top picture two flashes were used. One was placed to camera left and one behind the subject. The settings were ISO 400, Focal Length 35mm, aperture f/11 and shutter speed 1/200 seconds.

In the bottom picture one flash was used and it was placed to camera left. The settings were ISO 400, focal length 70mm, aperture f/11 and shutter speed 1/200 seconds.

It’s apparent I need more practice using my Speedlites. The shadows are a bit harsh on the face. However, I do like the affect the lights have on the sky. I will continue to experiment (the science teacher in me) with my lights and I’ll be sure to share my findings.

Congratulations to all the 2012 Graduates!

One thought on “A Senior Photo Session – A Closer Look

  1. Eva Ho June 11, 2012 / 4:53 am

    We should practice on each other one day.

Leave a Reply

