It’s Official! It’s Summertime!!

I have many fond memories of summertime during my childhood. We didn’t have to wait until June 20th for the official start, the end of the school year was sufficient for us. My family didn’t go away on summer vacation. I can actually recall only one big trip we all went on. I was 6 years old and we drove to Florida. My parents worked very hard to put four children through 12 years of private education, not to mention we all needed braces. So, fancy vacations were not something they could afford. However, I wouldn’t change a thing about my childhood.

Summer included such fun activities as choreographing roller skating dances, playing water “torture” games, bike races around the block, catching lightning bugs (aka fire flies – I think it depends on where you grew up), playing Ghost in the Graveyardand so many other memorable games. We never felt like we were missing out, not being able to travel.

Even as an adult, I continue to enjoy summer, especially in Chicago. It is such a lively place once the warm weather arrives. My husband and I always say that if it wasn’t for the winters, everyone would want to live here.

I even chose a profession that allowed me to have my summers off (though that wasn’t the only reason I became a teacher). Being a high school teacher was hard work, but just like when I was a kid, the end of the school year was highly anticipated. Once I had my children, I took every opportunity to enjoy summer with them, trying to jam as much fun in 2 1/2 months as possible.

Now that I am photographer, summer is actually my busy season. However, I am making a point to take some time off and enjoy summer with my family. Trips to Michigan, visits to local attractions, festivals, and of course plenty of water activities. Even though my family has traveled more than I ever did as a child, I want to make sure they don’t forget how much fun they had spending time with the family and just doing some fun summer stuff!

So, my posts may not be as frequent during these summer months, but I’ll be coming up with some great topics for the fall. I’m looking forward to some much needed rest and getting back to photographing for myself.

Make sure you get out there and maybe catch some lightning bugs or play some Ghost in the Graveyard. I know I will.

Leave a Reply

