Her Name Means “Beautiful”

This five day old newborn was exactly that, simply beautiful. I had the pleasure of photographing her this past weekend. I couldn’t believe how small she was. None of my children were ever that tiny. She weighed a little over 5 pounds. My smallest was 8.3 pounds.

The day before her session, I checked out the site, Digital Photography School. This site is chock full of information. I have subscribed to their newsletter and I am always finding helpful tips and useful information. They had an article in which they listed nine tutorials on newborn photography. I quickly went through all nine and jotted down a few helpful suggestions and tips. I thought I would share a few of them here. I can’t say I used all the tips for this session, but will definitely plan to do so in the future.

Tip #1 – Picture of mom holding a frame with baby’s stats

I came across a picture that showed a mom holding a picture frame with all the baby’s birth information (name, weight, height, time of birth, etc.). The picture was focused on the frame and the mom was slightly blurred in the background with a huge smile. It was a nice shot, one that I will most likely imitate.

Tip #2 – Get Details

This is a no brainer, but thought I would mention it. Don’t forget to get in close and photograph the hands, feet, nose, and all the other cute baby parts. They grow up so fast. Give mom and dad a keepsake, so they will always remember how small and sweet their baby was. This comes in handy when their sweet baby becomes a teenager.

Tip #3 – Grab a picture of the nursery

If you’re taking pictures at the home of the client, be sure to ask to get a shot of the nursery. I never thought to do this, but what a great idea. A child’s room has so many makeovers throughout the years. It would be nice to preserve how it looked when the baby arrived home.

Tip #4 – Bring a Hat

This goes without saying. Who takes a picture of a baby these days, without a hat? However, it gives me an excuse to show this picture. The hat was a gift from my sister. She purchased it at Little Threads, in Roscoe Village. The best part, the flower is a clip, so I can remove and replace it with another clip.

Tip #5 – Dress baby in easy removed clothing

Photographing a sleeping baby is a bit easier then a baby that is awake and quickly realizes she would rather be in mommy’s arm then in some goofy position for a picture. This tip is super helpful. If mom wants naked baby shots, then be sure to remind her to dress the baby in clothing that will be easily removed. Not having outfits that will have to go over the baby’s head will be a life saver. You will be surprised how quickly a 90 minute photo session turns into a 2 1/2 hour session. If you can take a few measures to help things move smoothly, I would highly suggest that you do it.

I know I will be posting more about newborn photography, once I view my Creative Live workshop with Sandy Puc (newborn photographer guru). There will be loads of invaluable information.

I’ll end with a few more pictures from the newborn session. I purchased this template with 11 other templates for $8 on Etsy. I’m sure I could have designed similar templates myself, but it would have taken awhile. Saving time was well worth the money. Etsy has some great templates and marketing tools for photographers at reasonable prices.

Sweet Dreams Little Nava.

3 thoughts on “Her Name Means “Beautiful”

  1. diana June 27, 2012 / 1:23 pm

    Beautiful pics and great tips!

  2. sharongaiettophotography July 1, 2012 / 4:33 pm

    Thanks ladies for taking the time to read. I know how hard it is to find any free moments. I truly appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

