Don’t Fear the In-Home Studio

Chicago Family & Children Photographer | Sharon Gaietto Photography

When I was searching for a photographer to take pictures of my children, when they were celebrating their milestones (3 mo, 6 mo, etc.), I didn’t have to go far. I contacted my local Babies R Us and scheduled an appointment with Kiddie Kandids. The thought of searching out an independent professional photographer, never crossed my mind. I also know, I would never have made an appointment to go to someone’s home to take pictures.

When starting my own photography business, 5 years ago, I didn’t give much thought to having my own studio space. I was very happy shooting on-location. Not to mention, it was very cost effective. However, as the business grew, I learned quickly that on-location choices during the winter months were hard to come by. I was also becoming quite weary of transporting my equipment to clients’ homes. I knew I had to make a decision, invest in a studio or continue to limit the choices I could offer to clients.

Well, the decision was made to create a studio. However, it wasn’t going to be a super cool location. It wasn’t going to be overlooking the river. It wasn’t going to have a great view of the city skyline. The building wasn’t going to have beautifully exposed brick. It was going to be in my home, a 100+ year old, wood frame, two-flat. I wasn’t sure how this was going to go over with potential clients.

As it was said in Field of Dreams, “Build it and they will come.” I have had many people look past the location of my work and have focused on the quality of my work. Even those that were hesitant in scheduling an appointment were happy they did.

“I was looking for some professional shots as a gift to the parents of the boy I nanny. I chose Sharon based on her reviews and proximity to his house. She responded promptly to all email inquiries. I wasn’t too sure about going into her home as her studio, but I think it actually helped put the 3YO boy at ease. She got the online gallery put together in 2 days, and the pictures look awesome. I would definitely recommend her!” – Erika F. (Chicago)

There are definitely people out there that would prefer to choose a photographer with a storefront studio than visit someone’s home and I can respect that. I just want to let those that may be on the fence, that they shouldn’t fear the in-home studio. I know, by working out of my home and not having to worry about a storefront, I am saving myself an enormous amount of time, money and energy. Time, money and energy that I am able to put back into my photography business, to ensure that I am providing my clients with the best product that I am capable of producing.

Another great reason to be home is the free help I receive before every session. I know I wouldn’t be able to find better looking models to help test my lighting.

blogStudio

If I knew then what I know now, I would have chosen to have my portrait sessions in the comfort of a home. A comfy couch, a cool (or warm) beverage, a relaxed atmosphere and not feeling rushed, would have definitely been the way to go.

One thought on “Don’t Fear the In-Home Studio

Leave a Reply

